Board of Directors

General Info

The Board of Directors for Clackamas Fire District #1 consists of five residents or property owners who are elected by the public. They serve four-year, staggered terms. The Board of Directors establishes fire district policy through the passage of resolutions and ordinances. The Board of Directors also adopts the district budget, approves appropriations and levies taxes.

Meeting Location and Time

Board meetings are held on the third Monday of each month at the Mt. Scott Fire Station located at 9339 SE Causey Road in Happy Valley. The meetings begin at 6:00 p.m. The public is invited to attend and time is scheduled for public comment.

The Board of Directors has various committees that meet periodically throughout the year. Meetings are scheduled as the need arises to discuss issues for each committee.


syringJim Syring – President
Term Expires: June 30, 2019

Director Jim Syring has lived in the North Clackamas community for over 55 years. He retired as the Deputy Chief for Clackamas Fire District #1 after serving the community and the fire service for 30 years.

Director Syring is involved in a number of community and professional organizations and has a Bachelor’s Degree in Fire Administration in addition to being a graduate of the National Fire Academy Executive Fire Officer Program. He and his family reside in Happy Valley.


trotterDon Trotter – Vice President
Term Expires: June 30, 2021

Director Don Trotter is a retired architect who lived in Oak Grove from 1968 until 1980 then in Milwaukie from 1980 until he returned to Oak Grove in 2017. He has been on the Board since 2007 when he was appointed to fill a vacancy.

Director Trotter serves on the Clackamas Emergency Services Foundation Board of Trustees and is a past president of the Oregon Fire District Directors Association. Director Trotter is also involved in other community activities.


Board of DirectorsJay Cross – Secretary/Treasurer
Term Expires: June 30, 2021

Director Jay Cross grew up in Southern Oregon, moving to Northern Oregon in 1991. He has been married to his wife, Leslie, for 26 years.  He and his family live in Eagle Creek and attend Good Shepherd Church in Boring. In 1992, Director Cross began his career with Gresham Fire Department and is currently serving as the EMS Officer. He has been in emergency services for over 30 years.

Director Cross served on the last Board of Directors of Boring Fire District #59 and worked with Clackamas Fire through the legal integration and annexation to better serve the residents of East Clackamas County.


josephThomas Joseph – Director
Term Expires: June 30, 2019

Director Thomas Joseph was born in India and attended K.E. College Mannanam, Kerala, India. After college, he served for 12 years with distinction in the Indian Air Force. In May 1978, he moved with his family to Portland, Oregon. In 1983, he founded Thomas Joseph Inc., DBA Thomas Joseph Personalized Dry Cleaning, which today has three locations.

Director Joseph is active in the community with organizations such as the Clackamas Rotary, North Clackamas County Chamber of Commerce, and the Providence Milwaukie Hospital Foundation.


wallMarilyn Wall – Director
Term Expires: June 30, 2019

Director Marilyn Wall was born and raised in Nebraska. She received her undergraduate degree from the University of Portland and her law degree from the University of Oregon. In 1977, she married Mitch Wall. They currently have two dependent cats. She practices business law with Mitch and his brother, Brad.

Over the years, Director Wall has served on a number of community boards and commissions. She has been on the Board since 1999 when she was appointed to fill a vacancy.